

Agenda

13:10

Wednesday 7 September 2022

11:00 Technical Checks for First Session

12:00 Welcome Buffet Lunch

13:00 Welcome and Opening Address

Nuclear Research Consortia Updates

Facilitators: Dr. Joanna Renshaw (University of Strathclyde) and Prof. Malcolm Joyce (Lancaster University)

Nuclear Energy Futures CDT – Dr. Mark Wenman Imperial College London

ATLANTIC – Prof. Bruce Hanson
 University of Leeds

TRANSCEND – Prof. Michael Fairweather
 University of Leeds

MIDAS – Dr. Philipp Frankel
 University of Manchester

SINDRI – Prof. Mahmoud Mostafavi
 RAIN – Prof. Barry Lennox
 GREEN CDT – Prof. Colin Boxall
 University of Manchester
 University of Manchester

NIRAB – Simon Franklin
 Nuclear Innovation & Research Office (NIRO)

MATHRAD – Prof. Eugene Shwageraus
 University of Cambridge

14:30 Comfort Break (including technical checks for following session)

15:00 National Facilities Updates

Facilitators: Dr. Clare Thorpe (University of Sheffield) and Dr. Jonathan Tate (Imperial College London)

Prof. Chris Grovenor
 Oxford University

Dr. Fred Mosselmans
 Prof. Abbie Jones
 Dr. Riza Batista-Navarro (Online)
 Dr. Peter Martin
 Dr. Peter Martin
 Dr. Peter Martin

Dr. Peter MartinDr. Lewis BlackburnUniversity of BristolUniversity of Sheffield

Christopher Carlton
 Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

16:30 Comfort Break (including technical checks for following session)

16:50 Developments in North America

Facilitator: Prof. Ian Farnan (University of Cambridge)

Dr. Rory Kennedy
 US Nuclear Science User Facilities

Suibel Schuppner
 U.S. Department of Energy

Jerry Hopwood (Online)
 UNENE

19:15 Drinks and dinner, with Guest Speaker Corhyn Parr, CEO of Nuclear Waste Services

Merchant House, 7 West George St, Glasgow G2 1BA



Agenda (Times subject to change)

Thursday 8 September 2022

og:oo Welcome Refreshments (including technical checks for following session)

09:30 International Session

Facilitator: Dr. Joanna Renshaw (University of Strathclyde)

Prof. Lyndon Edwards (Online)
 Australian Nuclear Science and Technology
 Christopher Carlton
 Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

Dr. Michael Rushton (Online)
 Bangor University (JUNO)

OTHER ANNOUNCEMENTS

Katherine Morris
 Nuclear Waste Services Research Support Office (RSO)

lain DarbyJohn NortonDounreayMagnox

10:30 Comfort Break (including technical checks for following session)

10:45 Nuclear Training and Physics Community Update

Facilitators: Prof. Karl Whittle (University of Liverpool) and Michael Fitzpatrick (Coventry University)

Prof. Patrick Regan (Physics)
 University of Surrey and NPL

Jo Tipa (Training)
 Nuclear Skills Academy for Nuclear

Hannah Fenwick (Training)NI YGN

Sarah Beacock (Training)
 Nuclear Institute

Alan Poole (Training), (Online)
 Jacobs Energy, Security and Technology

12:15 Buffet Lunch (including technical checks for following session)

13:15 Panel Discussion: New Nuclear in the UK and Beyond

Facilitator: Prof. Robin Grimes (Imperial College London)

Virginia Crosbie, MP (Online)
 Conservative MP for Ynys Môn

Si Dilks, Head of Nuclear and Renewable Innovation

Michael Crawforth, Business Development Manager
 Rolls-Royce SMR

Dr. Amanda Quadling, Director of Materials

UKAEA

David Nettleship, Senior Strategy Consultant
 Prof. Neil Hyatt, Chief Scientific Adviser
 Cavendish Nuclear
 Nuclear Waste Services